Memories: _________

***I never finished this blogpost but I stumbled upon it today when I was revisiting my blog. I enjoyed reading what I wrote so I thought I’d post it anyway. I wish I had finished it because ironically I don’t remember what was going through my mind and what I felt during that time anymore. This snippet intrigued me so I thought I’d share.***

February 8, 2011

I was looking at my diary the other day and realised that I’ve been home for about 4 months now. I couldn’t believe how quickly life in Melbourne had repositioned itself  into the forefront of my mind. I tried to remember where I was this time last year, who I was with, what I was doing and where I was. A sense of panic hit me when I realised that the stories and adventures had suddenly started to blur and my memories were slowly slipping away.

The thing about memories is that anything can bring it back.  It can be a smell,  an image, a building, a city, a name, a sound, a fragrance, a colour, a tune and all of a sudden it takes you back to a place you’ve been before or ignite something you’ve felt before. It can hit you when you least expect it, it can be watching a film set in the same place you studied, it can be the fragrance someone wore as they walked past,  it can be a postcard you see on your friends wall, it can also be as simple as the weather. Seeing the snow on the news reminds me of the wintry mornings I spent in Berlin and running to get to class on time and waking up to a hot day reminds me of my first day in Boston.

Some memories don’t ever leave me.

About ohsuzi

Fashion Enthusiast Stylist Extraordinaire Social Media Afficionado

Leave a comment